WILL LOYD “BUSTER” BLACK AND HIS TWHBEA EXECUTIVE COMMITEE STEP UP AND LET THE TWHBEA DIRECTORS PARTICIPATE IN THE DECEMBER AND MAY DIRECTORS MEETINGS BY THE USE OF MODERN TECHNOLOGY?

LEWISBURG, TN –  A group of present and former TWHBEA Directors have called upon   President Loyd “Buster” Black and the TWHBEA Executive Committee at its Friday, September 27, 2013 Executive Committee meeting to step into modern times.  The group asked the Executive Committee to  allow the use of technology so that Directors from coast to coast and around the world can participate in the two annual, December and May Directors meetings,  without having to travel to Lewisburg, Tennessee to do so.

In its letter to Black, the group documented that Director participation by technology was  “permitted by the Tennessee Nonprofit Corporations Act and (was) not prohibited by TWHBEA’s Bylaws”.  The group requesting the change also offered to provide funding so all of the Directors may participate in the meetings.   The letter also noted that the  Executive Committee presently uses Teleconferencing to conduct business.

The letter was addressed to:

Lloyd “Buster” Black – Georgia – bdf926@aol.com
Rob Cornelius – Alabama – rcornelius@twhbea.com
Mike Hicks – Tennessee – mhicks@twhbea.com
Denise Bader – Keyser – Germany – dkeyser@twhbea.com
Dr. Linda Montgomery – Alabama – lmontgomery@twhbea.com
Pat Stout – Tennessee – pstout@twhbea.com
Joyce Moyer – Ohio – jmoyer@twhbea.com
Jason Bachert – Missouri – jbachert@twhbea.com
Christy Lantis – California – clantis@twhbea.com
Rick Wies – Montana – rwies@twhbea.com
Wayne Dean – Tennessee – wdean@twhbea.com
Dr. David Mullis – Georgia – dmullis@twhbea.com
Caroline Hoffman – Missouri – choffman@twhbea.com

Tracy Boyd – Executive Director – tboyd@twhbea.com
Dee Dee Miller – Secretary – ddmiller@twhbea.com

THE LETTER TO LOYD “BUSTER” BLACK & TWHBEA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Dear Members of the Executive Committee and Mr. Boyd:
The undersigned directors and former directors of the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders and Exhibitors Association (“TWHBEA”) hereby request that directors be permitted to participate in future meetings of the Board of Directors by the use of teleconferencing or online methods.    The travel expenses incurred to travel to Lewisburg are significant for those outside of Tennessee and especially for those outside of the United States. Efforts to change the meeting locations to places more accessible to the rest of the country to date have not been successful, so it is very that important directors of a globally expanding TWHBEA have the ability to participate without being there.
Boards across the country have routinely used this technology with larger groups than ours, and telephonic/online meetings are permitted by the Tennessee Nonprofit Corporations Act and not prohibited by TWHBEA’s Bylaws.    Telephonic meetings have been used for decades- this is not new technology, and concerns about security, meeting structure and logistics have already been addressed by the providers of this technology.    The technology available now has vastly improved over the last few years and allows for seamless meetings without the glitches experienced by TWHBEA in the past.
Some of the technology providers we have found that could work for TWHBEA are the following:
1.    FuzeBox
a.          https://www.fuzebox.com/
b.          Pricing: Starts at $69/month in order to have 100+ participants.
               i.          This includes 100+ participants, 12 HD video streams, screen & content storage, meeting recordings, VoIP audio, webinar mode (showing presentations)
c.          Boasts the same security standards required by banking and healthcare industries as well as the Federal government.  This means encryption of data, password protection that makes password hacks almost impossible, visual confirmation of phone participants, secure phone conferencing, and host-controlled meeting access.
             i.          Please see FuzeBox webpage on security      https://www.fuzebox.com/technology/security
d.          500 toll-free minutes monthly (will need to contact vendor for more specifics)
               i.          Other plans offer more minutes, at higher cost.
2.        Infinite Conferencing
b.          Web conferencing supporting up to 1,000 participants, presentation sharing, instant polling, file transfer, password protection, recording and playback.
c.          Information about security is available on the website, no information available about pricing (would need to contact vendor).
3.        GoToMeeting
b.          See  http://www.gotomeeting.com/fec/gotomeeting_pricing  for various plans:
                i.          $49/month for up to 25 attendees, $99 up to 100, $399 up to 500
1.        no limitations on use (minutes, etc)
Security: Offers encrypted website and meetings.  http://www.gotomeeting.com/fec/secure_web_conferencing
The Executive Committee uses telephonic meetings, so why is this not allowed as an option for directors?      This is not cutting edge technology-it is mainstream, widely used and inexpensive.  Any costs that are incurred could be made up with contributions from directors and others who seek broader participation.
Directors from distant regions want to be included in TWHBEA, and this is the best way to ensure that all of us are equal participants in TWHBEA governance.
Many directors will still travel to Lewisburg to attend, but the technology will increase participation and allow a greater voice for those across the world.  The technology works and is broadly used by other organizations.   It encourages broader participation and is cost effective. We cannot see any reason why TWHBEA would oppose this.

We are hereby requesting that directors at the December and future meetings be permitted to participate by telephone or online.    We are happy to assist TWHBEA in any way possible to make this happen.

Sincerely,
Tim Beckmon
Stephen Brown
Linda Chovan
Rick Chovan
Fran Cole
Brook Curnow
Keith Dane
Carla Dichaut
Julie Dillon
Donna Fulz
David Green
Dee Hasler
Kris Herman
Marty Irby
Deborah Locke
Lori Northrup
David Pruett
Sherrie Szucs
Cris Van Horn”

The attention of the Tennessee Walking Horse world and those outside of it will be focused on President Loyd “Buster” Black

LOYD "BUSTER" BLACK - TWHBEA INTERIM PRESIDENT

LOYD “BUSTER” BLACK – TWHBEA INTERIM PRESIDENT

to see if Black and the THWBEA Executive Committee will address this important matter at its Friday,  September 27, 2013 Executive Committee meeting which will be conducted by the means of – what else – a Telephone Conference call.
BGBHEADSHOT